Conch Call of new beginnings

As a child I was fascinated by a conch shell my Mother had as a souvenir from her honeymoon in the Bahamas. For me it was always a symbol of beauty and love and made me remember my parents’ photos of their young 20’s selves hanging out in the sunshine. In Hawaii, they use conch shells as trumpet-like instruments to signal the beginning of a large community ceremony or gathering.

conch-shell blow

In looking at the photo below, you can see this dresser needed a new beginning. I found it at a yard sale in my neighborhood, where its latest leg of life had it serving as tool storage in a dusty garage. (Surprisingly, this is a common story among many dressers I have transformed). Because it was so rough, I had to really think about tackling this project. But its bones where intact and the shape was still attractive, so I went for it!

Before, After, and detail on   The Conch Shell Dresser by Yabette
Before, After, and detail on The Conch Shell Dresser by Yabette

The dove-tailed drawers and ornate handles remained original. I polished the wood and added the conch shell energy as the art deco styled front design lent itself to the beauty and shape of a seashell.

dove tailed drawer detail
dove tailed drawer detail

Leaving the old flawed wood and its beautiful design on the drawers and decorative top piece, I refinished the frame in a neutral chocolate taupe to allow the aged beauty to shine.

Conch Shell Dresser by Yabette
Conch Shell Dresser by Yabette

This art piece is convenient because of its size and sturdy storage capacity with dimensions of  18″Dx30″Wx47″H.  Whether you have a glorious city Victorian, bohemian cottage, or modern steampunk loft, this vintage dresser will hold your sweaters and jeans in style. You can buy it for $500 now using cash or credit. Send an email (swankety@gmail.com) to me to come see it or have it delivered. May new beginnings arrive smoothly and carry you into a wondrous future. xxoo Yabette

Conch Shell Dresser by Yabette
Conch Shell Dresser by Yabette

Leave a Reply

