Swankspirations

Bistro De Tour Eiffel ParisMy spirit could not be dampened by the rain, nor the stern look from the waitress insisting “We don’t do that here” upon my request for a container to take the remainder of that perfect creamy squash soup with me. It was the night before my birthday and I was in Paris! I had just wondered through the streets near 24 Rue Francois 1er and stared into the windows of the closed shops of Christian Dior, Chanel, Hermes and the like. While stopping there at Cafe’ Mode for an evening bite, I sketched the scene and water colored and inked it later. I’ll always remember my happy jaunt in the rain with my light jacket and umbrella, halting in emotional surprise when I came upon the watery night view of the Eiffel Tour lights.

Cafe Mode, Paris
Cafe Mode, Paris watercolor and ink $240

This and several like it, professionally framed by Capricorn Framing are part of my solo exhibition in the Haight Ashbury District at Blue Front Cafe at 1430 Haight St. San Francisco, CA.

swankspirations

From the crocus flowers in my Momma’s Ohio spring garden to the profile photo, made by Christine Donley Allababedi, used as self portrait reference, I find inspiration all over the world and this show is a culmination of several different works. It consists of abstracts, florals, imaginary creatures, framed cafe illustrations, and more. The work is in acrylic, oil, and watercolor/ink. There are sizes from 11×8″ to almost 2×4′!

Six of Sixteen Paintings by Yabette at The Blue Front Cafe.
Six of Sixteen Paintings by Yabette at The Blue Front Cafe.

Schedule a leisurely afternoon on Haight Street and visit here. I highly recommend the wraps at The Blue Front. They have one for every kind of taste and dietary need. I especially enjoy having a glass of white mocha coffee and sipping it in the front window, watching the interesting life of this neighborhood and those who visit her.

May you find inspiration in your every day- or buy art to help you. I’ll leave you with this quote… xxooYabette

Art was, seriously, the only thing I’d ever wanted to own. It can change the way that I feel in the mornings.” -David Bowie

Leave a Reply

